Return to Gastroenterology & GI Surgery

UH Digestive Health Institute Leadership


John A. Dumot, DO, FASGE
Director, UH Digestive Health Institute
216-593-1305
John.Dumot@UHhospitals.org

 


Fabio Cominelli, MD, PhD
Chief Scientific Officer, UH Digestive Health Institute
Chief, Division of Gastroenterology & Liver Disease, UH Cleveland Medical Center
216-844-7344
Fabio.Cominelli@UHhospitals.org

 


Scott R. Steele, MD, FACS, FASCRS
Associate Director of Surgical Services, UH Digestive Health Institute
Chief, Division of Colorectal Surgery, UH Cleveland Medical Center
216-844-8222
Scott.Steele@UHhospitals.org

 

CENTER DIRECTORS

Advanced Technology & Innovation Center


Medical Director: Amitabh Chak, MD, FASGE
216-844-3217
Amitabh.Chak@UHhospitals.org

 


Surgical Director: Jeffrey Marks, MD, FACS, FASGE
216-983-4930
Jeffrey.Marks@UHhospitals.org

 

Bariatric Surgery, Metabolic & Nutrition Center


Director: Leena Khaitan, MD, MPH, FACS
216-286-5436
Leena.Khaitan@UHhospitals.org

 

Community Gastroenterology & Quality Center


Medical Director: Michael Koehler, MD, FACG
440-708-1555
Michael.Koehler@UHhospitals.org

 


Surgical Director: Bradley Champagne, MD, FACS, FASCRS
216-844-8942
Bradley.Champagne@UHhospitals.org

 

Esophageal & Swallowing Center


Medical Director: John Dumot, DO, FASGEG
216-593-1305
John.Dumot@UHhospitals.org

 


Surgical Director: Leena Khaitan, MD, MPH, FACS
216-286-5436
Leena.Khaitan@UHhospitals.org

 

Gastrointestinal Cancer Center


Medical Director: Gregory Cooper, MD, AGAF, FACG, FACP
216-844-5385
Gregory.Cooper@UHhospitals.org

 


Surgical Director: Jeffrey Hardacre, MD, FACS
216-844-7047
Jeffrey.Hardacre@UHhospitals.org

 

Inflammatory Bowel Disease Center


Medical Director: Jeffry Katz, MD
216-844-1995
Jeffry.Katz@UHhospitals.org

 


Surgical Director: Sharon Stein, MD, FACS, FASCRS
216-844-2873
Sharon.Stein@UHhospitals.org

 

Liver Center


Medical Director: Pierre Gholam, MD, AGAF
216-286-6757
Pierre.Gholam@UHhospitals.org

 


Surgical Director: Christopher Siegel, MD, PhD, FACS
216-844-0489
Christopher.Siegel@UHhospitals.org

 

Additional Specialized Services

 

Dworken Inpatient Unit for Gastrointestinal and Liver Diseases


UH Cleveland Medical Center
To admit a patient, call the Transfer Referral Center at 216-844-1111 or 1-800-421-9199
Director: Fabio Cominelli, MD, PhD
216-844-7344
Fabio.Cominelli@UHhospitals.org

 

Intestinal Failure Unit


Director: Sharon Stein, MD, FACS, FASCRS
216-844-2873
Sharon.Stein@UHhospitals.org

 

Comprehensive Hernia Care and Abdominal Wall Reconstruction Center


Co-Director: Yuri Novitsky, MD
216-844-7344
Yuri.Novitsky@UHhospitals.org

 


Co-Director: Ajita Prabhu, MD
216-844-4909
Ajita.Prabhu@UHhospitals.org